1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer


Obtain answers to some Frequently Asked Questions (F.A.Q) through this website for the help you may need from us.

What is forest certification?

The purpose of any form of certification is to provide verification that a product, service or process has been done as prescribed. Forest certification is therefore a process of inspecting particular forests to verify if their management is in accordance with agreed set of standards. The standard serves as a yardstick for measuring good forest management practices.
What are essential elements of forest certification?
•    a set of 'standards' which represent 'good' or 'acceptable' practice.
•    be based on equal and balanced participation of a broad range of stakeholders
•    a formal auditing process carried out in an independent and objective manner.
•    a system for identifying and tracing source of a product through a chain of custody audit.
•    be cost effective and voluntary.

Why certification?

•    Consumers are able to identify that the wood product they are purchasing originates from a sustainably managed forest.
•    The environmental and ecological functions of the forest in providing suitable habitat for biodiversity is sustained.
•    Forest dependent communities are able to derive sustained benefits from the forest.
•    Timber Companies are able to have access to new markets

What is Chain of custody certification (CoC)?

Chain of Custody (CoC) certification allows the tracing of timber through the production chain i.e. from the forest to the final consumer or from the consumer to the forest.

What is the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC)?

FSC is an independent, non-governmental, not for profit organization established to promote the responsible management of the world’s forests. FSC is a certification system that provides internationally recognized standard-setting, trademark assurance and accreditation services to companies, organizations, and communities interested in responsible forestry.

What is FSC Label?

The FSC label provides a credible link between responsible production and consumption of forest products, enabling consumers and businesses to make purchasing decisions that benefit people and the environment as well as providing ongoing business value.

How does FSC certification make a difference in the world’s forests?

When a forest manager decides to become FSC certified, they must conform to all applicable FSC rules before earning FSC certification and the right to use the FSC label. Because managing forests the FSC way means following the highest social and environmental criteria, it often requires managers to adapt their management and operations. This is how FSC has a direct and permanent positive impact on the world’s forests and the people living from, in and around the forest.

Why should I become FSC certified?

Being FSC certified shows that you comply with the highest social and environmental standards on the market. As public concern about the state of the world’s forests and timber resources increases, FSC provides you with a simple solution to complex environmental and social issues.

The FSC label is an effective way to get public and consumer recognition of your responsible practices. This gives you credibility with customers and business partners as well as financial institutions and watchdog organizations.

FSC certification helps to protect your brand and reputation and it allows you to access highly environmentally sensitive markets. Increasingly, governments and other organizations specify FSC certified products in their purchasing policies. And because FSC has the only globally valid standard, it is also the only standard that is no barrier to trade under the World Trade Organization (WTO).

Who can become an FSC Member?

Anybody who supports the idea of improving forest management around the world can become an FSC member. FSC members are divided into Social, Environmental and Economic chambers. Each of these chambers is divided in North (industrialized countries) and South (developing countries). Each chamber carries the same vote. This guarantees that no one interest can dominate.

Who's Online

We have 6 guests and no members online

Go to Top